Courtesy of the AJC:

The campaign of Nathan Deal says the Republican nominee for governor shed “birther” attorney Orly Taitz as a Facebook friend this morning, within minutes of finding out who she was.

Taitz is the infamous attorney – the term is used loosely — who has persuaded a handful of military personnel, including officers, to resist overseas deployment on the fiction that Obama is a non-citizen and thus ineligible to be president and commander-in-chief.

She’s currently fighting a $20,000 fine imposed last year by a federal judge in Columbus.

On Wednesday, Taitz posted the following on her web site:

If you recall, on my birthday, when I was getting hundreds of birthday greetings on Facebook, my access to my own Facebook page was blocked by Facebook.

I started a new page. Within a few days nearly 300 people signed up as my friends on my new page. More community leaders are joining. Congressman Nathan Deal joined my new page today.

Brian Robinson, spokesman for Deal, said that Taitz requested friendship status with the Deal campaign Facebook page – and was confirmed amid a large batch of other requests. But Robinson said that a campaign worker alerted him to just who Taitz was, and that she was “unfriended” immediately – before a call rolled in from the Insider an hour or so ago.

“We are not friends with her,” Robinson said.

Screenshots that they were indeed friends, however brief, are below. Click each picture to enlarge.

