Nathan Deal sent a campaign email to Hall County teachers through their school e-mail accounts.

How did the Deal campaign get the email addresses? Who provided these to the Deal campaign? Because using government resources (i.e. school email addys) for partisan campaign purposes *might* be an ethics violation.

Full letter below the fold.

To our fine public school educators in Hall County,


Education has been a part of my life since the day I was born. My mother and father were public school teachers and I grew up in a household where education held a place of highest esteem.
As many of you know, I am married to Sandra, a teacher, who also had a mother and father who taught here in Hall County.


We are products of Georgia’s public schools, as are our four children. I have a great respect for those who have chosen education as a profession. You are shaping the lives of future generations of Georgians.
These are challenging times for our state. I know you have made personal sacrifices because of the current budgetary situation of Georgia.


Let me assure you that I consider education to be a priority for state government. It would be my preference not to have teachers on furlough. There are candidates for governor who are saying they will end teacher furloughs. To make that promise is disingenuous, but let me assure you, it will be one of the last steps I would take to balance the budget as governor.


If I am elected as your governor, you will have a strong advocate for education. I believe this is accomplished with local control, rather than top-down directives from the state. You and your administrators and local board know what’s best for your school and district.


I am asking for your vote and support in the July 20th Republican primary. I want to be a governor who gives our Georgia educators the opportunity to make our state a great example for others to see.

Sincerely,

Nathan Deal

For more information on our campaign, please go to our website.

