Mike Freeman, the only democratic candidate running in the May 11 special election for 9th district congress, has official removed his name from the race.

His press release follows:

“Dear Friends,

It is with the deepest sadness that I announce today that I am withdrawing my candidacy for U.S. House of Representatives in the May 11 special election. I will also not be running in the November general election.

This is not a decision I have made lightly, but recent events within my family demand that I leave the business of politics aside and focus on my duties as a husband, father, and grandfather. My family has always come first, and that has not and will not change.

I want to extend my heartfelt thanks and appreciation to the many committed citizens who have supported my campaign with their time, money, and hard work. I apologize deeply that I will not be able to continue this magnificent effort.

Sincerely,
Mike

