My office co-workers pounced on this story before saying Good Morning to each other. The facts were distorted. Going by their facts, Jimmy Carter called a press conference to call Rep. Joe Wilson a racist.

What are the facts?

Jimmy Carter told NBC’s Brian Williams in an interview Tuesday that he believes race is at the core of much of the opposition to President Obama.

“I think an overwhelming portion of the intensely demonstrated animosity toward President Barack Obama is based on the fact that he is a black man, that he’s African American,” Carter said. “I live in the South, and I’ve seen the South come a long way, and I’ve seen the rest of the country that shared the South’s attitude toward minority groups at that time, particularly African Americans”

Continued Carter, who is famously from Georgia: “And that racism inclination still exists. And I think it’s bubbled up to the surface because of the belief among many white people, not just in the South but around the country, that African-Americans are not qualified to lead this great country. It’s an abominable circumstance, and it grieves me and concerns me very deeply.”

Carter made the remarks in Atlanta. He was interviewed in connection with his 85th birthday.

So Carter didn’t demand a press conference just for the purpose of calling Joe Wilson a member of the KKK.

Carter was asked to do an interview During the interview, Carter was asked about the incident. Carter spoke in general terms about the tone various criticisms of Obama. Perhaps there were other comments in other venues that I didn’t read. I’d like to know.

But, let’s be fair. Obama’s opponents have linked Obama to Osama … Adoph … Stalin … all of them mass murderers. Those three could easily be labeled racists. One killed Jews. One killed ‘Jew loving Americans.’ And, one didn’t stop the slaughter of Jews, before, after, or during WWII. Obama hasn’t killed anyone, yet.

Joe Wilson is a Southerner. Much of the outrage I’ve witnessed in the South is a racist reaction to Obama.

“He’s going to give the country to the niggers” is the most common pre-election prediction. Other predictions were made by various pundits that Obama would immediately give reparations to Blacks. Or, steal our guns. Kill our grand parents with Death Squads or Death Panels. Open the borders to non-white criminals.

Maybe I should scream, “What the Hell is wrong with you’all!”

Various links to the Carter’s comments. Here, here, and there.

I’ll gladly add other links that prove Carter called Joe Wilson a racist.

