How many of you remember layaway? 

When this blogger was a child, I can remember going with my mom to the Liquidation Mart in Gainesville to buy my school clothes.  We would go sometime in June, but we wouldn’t buy the clothes.  We only picked them out.  Then the store would put them on hold and my mother would pay every week until school started.  What a great concept. 

Kmart and other stores brought this blast from the past out of the closet for the Christmas season, and now they are doing it again.  I recently purchased my new office furniture from OfficePro’s in Gainesville on a layaway plan.  It is a great concept of which debt consumers should take advantage.  Instead of whipping out that almost maxed out Visa, ask about layaway.  We might just improve this economy on our own. 

Like they say Mom knows best.

