Athens Banner Herald reports that the longtime Athens landmark was virtually destroyed by fire this morning.

A sad day for the hundreds of thousands of students who spent their formative years drinking cheap beer and watching some of the best (and not-so-best) bands that our culture has had to offer.

In ’91, I spent a week there watching the World Series on the big screen, as the Braves made their worst-to-first appearance. My first concert was there- Psychedelic Furs in ’90. A few years later, I tried to beg my way into a Dave Matthews Band performance.

Favorite Georgia Theatre story: Several of my buddies were convinced that the “next big thing” was playing at the Georgia Theatre and insisted that I go with them. “What band is it?” I asked, and promptly laughed at their answer. I’d heard some of the quasi-cool kids in Biology class raving about the same band, and thought that if those Biology pricks liked ’em there was no way that I was setting foot in the joint that night.

So, yeah, I missed my only chance to see Nirvana play live.

