Buried in GriftDrift‘s post, he casually points out that “although in the current climate, I am considered left leaning (I’m convinced 50 years ago I would be considered a moderate Republican).”

Yeah. You and me both buddy.

A few years ago, I had the pleasure of reading a book about the father of the modern conservative movement, Barry Goldwater. I felt that his time mirrored ours (this was in 2003, when we were deep in war) and I was aware that Hillary had once worked on his campaign. How odd, I thought. Hillary Clinton, a Republican?

So I bought the book and found out that Barry was:

  • Strongly anti-communist.
  • Pro-choice.
  • Supported separation of church & state.
  • Supported legalization of marijuana for cancer patients.
  • Believed that gays should serve openly in the military.

His Wikipedia page has some fascinating quotes.

To the Washington Post:

When you say “radical right” today, I think of these moneymaking ventures by fellows like Pat Robertson and others who are trying to take the Republican party and make a religious organization out of it. If that ever happens, kiss politics goodbye.

About the Iran/Contra affair:

It’s the god-damned stupidest foreign policy blunder this country’s ever made.

About the military ban on homosexuals:

Everyone knows that gays have served honorably in the military since at least the time of Julius Caesar…You don’t have to be straight to be in the military; you just have to be able to shoot straight.

And to his own party, shortly before death:

Do not associate my name with anything you do. You are extremists, and you’ve hurt the Republican party much more than the Democrats have.

So yeah, had the timing of fornication between my parents been different, I could’ve rallied behind a guy like that. It’s easy to see why Hillary might have worked the phones for him during his presidential run.

